Book Review: Clockwork Princess (The Infernal Devices #3) by Cassandra Clare

Hi everybody!

Of course I forgot to post on Saturday but hey! I’m posting now. :p I have my review for Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare.

Titel: Clockwork Princess

Author: Cassandra Clare

Publishing Date: September 5th 2013

Pages: 567

Rating: 5/5


SYNOPSIS (Goodreads)

THE INFERNAL DEVICES WILL NEVER STOP COMING

A net of shadows begins to tighten around the Shadowhunters of the London Institute. Mortmain plans to use his Infernal Devices, an army of pitiless automatons, to destroy the Shadowhunters. He needs only one last item to complete his plan: he needs Tessa Gray.

Charlotte Branwell, head of the London Institute, is desperate to find Mortmain before he strikes. But when Mortmain abducts Tessa, the boys who lay equal claim to her heart, Jem and Will, will do anything to save her. For though Tessa and Jem are now engaged, Will is as much in love with her as ever.

As those who love Tessa rally to rescue her from Mortmain’s clutches, Tessa realizes that the only person who can save her is herself. But can a single girl, even one who can command the power of angels, face down an entire army?

CHARACTERS

First, I’ll start with Will. If you read my reviews of Clockwork Angel and Clockwork Prince you know I wasn’t that fond of Will. But when I started Clockwork Princess I had the feeling that I had to like Will to really fully enjoy the book. So I tried. In the begining I found this to be very hard but slowly he began to grow on me. It wasn’t like he really touched my heart like Jem did but he was quite an interesting character.

My love for Jem never wavered and I loved him more and more. He’s so selfless and Tessa and Will are so lucky to have him for I can’t imagine a better lover or friend.

As I said in my review for Clockwork Prince Tessa annoyed me a little bit. But now I loved her like I loved her in the first book. She became so much stronger and wiser and, just like Jem, she did what she thought was best for the others before she thought about herself.

Cassandra Clare is always able to create strong women and Charlotte is no exception. She’s pregnant and I can’t imagine a better mother for she always loved and cared for everyone in the Institute. Her relationship with Henry in the first two books was quite cold but they opened up to each other and I was so happy for them both.

I haven’t talked yet about the Lightwood brothers although they already appeared in the second book. First Gabriel (the youngest) is quite an ass. He just really hates Will and doesn’t bother to hide it (neither does Will hide his dislike, of course, because that’s Will). After he discovers how his father really is, he becomes more likeable. His loyalty to his father was very important, though, and he has difficulties standing away from that.

His older brother, Gideon, is different. He’s mostly stiff and shows little emotion but he can be surprisingly funny. In contrast to his brother, Gideon understands and sees that their father never really the good man was they thought him to be. Also, Gideon and Sophie. AAAH.

Lastly there is Cecily and I adore her! As the sister of Will, she’s strong, stubborn and hilarious. I wish we would’ve seen more of her, though.

PLOT

The plot was pretty exciting. If I wasn’t spoiled for one huge thing (I recommend you read the books in order of publication) I would’ve cried of both great sadness and happiness. But what I loved most was the epilogue and how Cassandra Clare wrapped everything nicely up. Surprisingly I really like how the book ended for Tessa.

OVERALL

Just like the first book it was a book with a lot of exciting events. I loved all the characters and Tessa, Will, Cecily… always could make me laugh out loud. The trilogy told me an incredible story (although I like The Mortal Instruments a bit more) and all the characters have a special place in my hear. Yes, even Will 😉 But Jem is the one who can have my entire heart if he wants to. *-*


Did you read this book? What did you think of it? Comment below or send me a link to your review if you have one. I’d loved to read your thoughts! ALSO!!! Tomorrow I will post a blog post about something I’m very excited about. (It’s a discussion 😉 )

Love

Katniss Potter Booklover xxx

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Geef een reactie

