Book Review: Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Hi, everybody!

As  I told you in my last post, my book review will be slightly different and I hope you’ll like it!

Titel: Everything, Everything

Author: Nicola Yoon

Publishing Date: September 1st 2016

Pages: 320

Rating: 5/5


SYNOPSIS (Goodreads)

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

WRITING

Nicola Yoon has got a great writingstyle. Everything is so beautiful explained and she could make characters so real and living. Another thing I really liked was the format this book was written in. There were these really nice drawings that fitted the story very wel and it was fun to have them added. Some chapters were just Maddie’s and Olly’s conversations when they were IMing and in some way I thought Nicola did those conversations feel like you were just reading a normal book and I really liked that (That really didn’t make any sense XD )

CHARACTERS

Let me start with the main character. Madeline may be one of the strongest characters I’ve ever met. She deals so well with her situation and makes the best of everything. She made me realise how lucky I am to be able to go outside everyday and to meet new people. I’ve never felt so connected to a fictional character. Not because I can relate to Maddie’s situation (Definitely not) nor because I can relate to her as a character but just because she felt so very real. This is probably why I loved this book so much. I felt so sorry for her and I know she wouldn’t like that but I really did. Maddie also was a likeable character; she and her nurs, Carla, were like real friends and she had a great relationship with her mom. I did find it quite rude though how she treated her mom after she met Olly but I could understand why she acted as she did and why she did what she did.

And so we come to Olly. Oh, Olly. He has his problems at home himself but they’re very different from Maddie’s. He’s dark, funny, strong, handsome, … What else do you want? I really loved Olly. He helped Maddie to step out of her comfort zone and he let her explore things that she probably shouldn’t explore in her situation and maybe it was reckless and really not smart but it did help the both of them.

Further on there’re Maddie’s mom and Maddie’s nurse, Carla. Her mom is a very comforting mother. She does everything she can to make Maddie’s life bareable. That also counts for Carla. Maddie can tell her everything and she always did what she thought was the best for Maddie.

PLOT

Let’s say that it was a very interesting plottwist and I really didn’t expect that. At first I had no idea what to think of it but after I finished the book and I thought some more about it I just realised I was very happy. I was happy for both Maddie and Olly.

OVERALL

This was a great book and it was very different from all the other contemporaries I’ve read. It opened my eyes and it was one of my favourite romances ever.


I hope you enjoyed this new structure and I will see you again on Wednesday! Happy Valentine, btw! ❤

Love

Katniss Potter Booklover xxx

Geef een reactie

