Book Review: Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews

Hi, everyboyd!

Weekend = new book review! I hope you enjoy. 🙂

Titel: Me and Earl and the Dying Girl

Author: Jesse Andrews

Publishing Date: Marsh 1st 2012

Pages: 295

Rating: 4.25/5


Synopsis (Goodreads)

Greg Gaines is the last master of high school espionage, able to disappear at will into any social environment. He has only one friend, Earl, and together they spend their time making movies, their own incomprehensible versions of Coppola and Herzog cult classics.

Until Greg’s mother forces him to rekindle his childhood friendship with Rachel.

Rachel has been diagnosed with leukemia—-cue extreme adolescent awkwardness—-but a parental mandate has been issued and must be obeyed. When Rachel stops treatment, Greg and Earl decide the thing to do is to make a film for her, which turns into the Worst Film Ever Made and becomes a turning point in each of their lives.

And all at once Greg must abandon invisibility and stand in the spotlight.


My Review

I had seen this book many times on Bookstagram already and it seemed like something I would like. (Also the titel kept buzzing through my head)

The book surprised me in a good way. Obviously the book is about something very serious but Jesse Andrews made it something light although you know what’s hanging above the characters’ heads. It’s a book full of funny moments that make you laugh out loud. But most importantly, it is real. Nothing is made more beautiful that it is.

Earl is my favourite. The way he talks and the things he says are hilarious. When we got to the end of the book he really surprised me. There’s is much more to him than you would thing first.

Greg tells the story. Not my favourite character. He is, just like his friend, funny but he can be quite selfish. In the first part and the middle I thought he was ok. But then Earl showed me how Greg really was. I don’t say I hate Greg, I just don’t like him that much.

I did like Rachel. She’s very honest and, in contrast to Greg, she cares about others. It hurt when Rachel got kind of depressed when she started the chemo therapy but this was also why this book was so real.


That’s it! See you on Wednesday!

Love

Katniss Potter Booklover xxx

Geef een reactie

