Book Review: We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves by Karen Joy Fowler

Hi, everybody!

Today I have my first book review in a long time! I hope you enjoy. 🙂

 

Titel: We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves

Author: Karen Joy Fowler

Publishing Date: June 19th 2014

Pages: 336

Rating: 3/5


Synopsis (Goodreads)

What if you grew up to realise that your father had used your childhood as an experiment?

Rosemary doesn’t talk very much, and about certain things she’s silent. She had a sister, Fern, her whirlwind other half, who vanished from her life in circumstances she wishes she could forget. And it’s been ten years since she last saw her beloved older brother Lowell.

Now at college, Rosemary starts to see that she can’t go forward without going back, back to the time when, aged five, she was sent away from home to her grandparents and returned to find Fern gone.


My Review

When I read the synopsis of the book I was sold immediatly. It sounded like a very interesting story and I couldn’t wait to start reading.

The story begins in the middle. This “middle-part” is a very important aspect in the book. Rosalie, the protagonist, is now at college. She tries to live a normal live but Rosalie realises that she can’t go forward without going back. And with that we land at the beginning of her story.
Rosalie is five and she tells about her sister who dissapears out of her life all of a sudden and, later, about her brother who ran away from home. She wouldn’t see him for ten years.

The first 100 pages of the book were like I expected them to be. But then we discover what this book is really about. When I read about it the first time I was just like: “Siriously?” I had no idea what I really thought about it but on the other hand I hadn’t got any idea that those things really happened.
The “Seriously?-feeling” stayed a while and I had no idea if I actually was enjoying the book.

The only thing that I do know is that this book is terribly well written. Karen Joy Fowler’s writingstyle is so intelligent and allthough this isn’t a story that had really happened, it did seem so very real. I have no idea how she could write a book that felt so real.

Like I said previously, the “Seriously?-feeling” kept lingering. When we got to the end the feeling faded almost completely but I still don’t know if I really enjoyed it. It certainly was smart and intelligent, but it didn’t touch me as much as it might touch other people.

It is worth reading but I wasn’t really for me.


Did you read this book? What did you think of it? Let me know in the comments or send the link to your review if you have one. I’d love to  read it. 🙂

Love

Katniss Potter Booklover xxx

Geef een reactie

