Book Review: City of Heavenly Fire (The Mortal Instruments #6) by Cassandra Clare

Hi, everybody!

I’ve had such a bussy weekend! I don’t know if I will be able to put a book review on every week because of my exams. We’ll see… But I made some time to post a book review today! I hope you enjoy. 🙂

Titel: City of Heavenly Fire

Author: Cassandra Clare

Genre: YA, Fantasy Adventure

Publishing Date: May 27th 2014

Pages: 725

Rating: 5/5


Synopsis  (Goodreads)

In this dazzling and long-awaited conclusion to the acclaimed Mortal Instruments series, Clary and her friends fight the greatest evil they have ever faced: Clary’s own brother.

Sebastian Morgenstern is on the move, systematically turning Shadowhunter against Shadowhunter. Bearing the Infernal Cup, he transforms Shadowhunters into creatures out of nightmare, tearing apart families and lovers as the ranks of his Endarkened army swell.

The embattled Shadowhunters withdraw to Idris – but not even the famed demon towers of Alicante can keep Sebastian at bay. And with the Nephilim trapped in Idris, who will guard the world against demons?

When one of the greatest betrayals the Nephilim have ever known is revealed, Clary, Jace, Isabelle, Simon, and Alec must flee – even if their journey takes them deep into the demon realms, where no Shadowhunter has set foot before, and from which no human being has ever returned…


My review

A flawless end to an amazing book series. I loved everything in this book. After City of Bones, I loved Jace and Clary the most in this one. Of course, because Cassandra Clare can never leave them alone, there’s standing something between Jace and Clary yet again. But I didn’t find it as heartbreaking as in City of Glass, City of Fallen Angels and City of Lost Souls. Friends of mine said that I would die in this book and I thought it was because of Jace and Clary. I thought it would get worse than those three previous books. Fortunatly, that wasn’t the case.

The whole book was so effing exciting but I was wondering what part would break my heart. After some time I even thought that part wouldn’t come but then the last couple chapters came…
Even though I cried extremely hard, I had also never laughed this hard in any book before. There was this part where I seriously had to cry of laughter for ten minutes straight. When I think about it now I have start laughing all over again.

You all know how much I love Jace and Clary, and Magnus and Alec, but… they’ll have to step aside for Isabelle and Simon. I love those two so much! Maybe also because Izzy is my favorite character but just! Izzy and Simon!

Cassandra Clare has created a reading experience I’ll never forget. She has the talent to write an action-packed series with one of the best cast of characters ever. Her writingstyle is so, so beautiful. Cassandra Clare also has the talent to “embarras” us: Everytime, at the end of each book, when you think everything happened that had to happen, she slaps you in the face with another plot twist that makes you scream out of frustration. When you’re just laying in bed with your book you just have to take a moment to take it all in. You look at the wall and think: “What the hell did just happen? Why did she have to do that?”

I have no idea which one of the six is my favourite. I really can’t choose between City of Fallen Angels and City of Heavenly Fire.

Oh! Can’t wait to read her other books!!!

Did you read this series? What did you think of it? Who’s your favourite character? Ship? Which one’s your favourite book? Please comment below! Also, if you have a book review for this one you can send a link to it. I’d love to read it! 🙂

Love

Katniss Potter Booklover xxx

Een gedachte over “Book Review: City of Heavenly Fire (The Mortal Instruments #6) by Cassandra Clare

  1. I love Mortal Instruments so much! I think City of Glass is probably my favourite of this series. But outside of the series directly, my favourite book is The Bane Chronicles, because my favourite character is without a doubt Magnus Bane ❤ What about you?

    Liked by 1 persoon

Geef een reactie

