Book Review: City of Lost Souls (The Mortal Instruments #5) by Cassandra Clare

Hi, everybody!

It’s Saturday and tomorrow is my last day of autumn break. 😦 But I have a book review for you!

Titel: City of Lost Souls

Author: Cassandra Clare

Genre: YA, Fantasy Adventure

Publishing Date: May 8th 2012

Pages: 535

Rating: 4.25/5


Synopsis (Goodreads)

What price is too high to pay, even for love? When Jace and Clary meet again, Clary is horrified to discover that the demon Lilith’s magic has bound her beloved Jace together with her evil brother Sebastian, and that Jace has become a servant of evil. The Clave is out to destroy Sebastian, but there is no way to harm one boy without destroying the other. As Alec, Magnus, Simon, and Isabelle wheedle and bargain with Seelies, demons, and the merciless Iron Sisters to try to save Jace, Clary plays a dangerous game of her own. The price of losing is not just her own life, but Jace’s soul. She’s willing to do anything for Jace, but can she still trust him? Or is he truly lost?

Love. Blood. Betrayal. Revenge. Darkness threatens to claim the Shadowhunters in the harrowing fifth book of the Mortal Instruments series.


My review

After an end like the one of City of Fallen Angels I just had to know what was going to happen next. It was really good but like City of Bones and City of Ashes, not my favourtie.

I’m a big Clace shipper, you have to know, but in this fifth part I didn’t think I liked it very much. This was mostly in the beginning. When the book was coming to its end I absolutely adored them again. But Clary just risked too much for Jace.
She was a real badass, though. She knew how to fight and the fighting scenes with her were one of my favourites.
Jace’s condition really broke my heart. Like Clary, we could all see that that wasn’t the real Jace. Cassandra Clare did a wonderfull job on that.
Although Jace and Clary weren’t my favourite, I loved all the other couples.
Alec and Magnus still have a lot of problems but they really love each other. Alec talks about the problems he encounters now everyone knows he’s homosexual. Turns out it’s less easy as we first thought for Alec.
Jordan still has a lot of guilt for all the things that he did to Maia. But Maia sees this and because Jordan is extremely cute, handsome and gentle, Maia can’t resist him.
And then, there’s Simon and Isabelle. Oh, where do I start with them. Isabelle always was one of my favourite character of this series and after reading this one she might be my top favourite. The always so strong and tough Izzy turns out to be vulnerable and she finally admits she needs someone… Simon.

Except the little problem I had with Jace and Clary, I adored every other couple in this book. That’s also one of the best things in Cassandra’s books. It never is about one or two persons. It’s about a lot more persons. Each and everyone of them gets his or her own story. I totally love it.

I have to admit something shameful, though. When I was about halfway in the book I realised that I started to like Sebastian. I knew it was wrong. He’s incredibly bad and he reminds me of Voldemort (yep…) But still… Don’t worry. These feeling completely disapeared when the book was coming to its end. (Please tell me if you felt the same… please…)

I almost finished City of Heavenly Fire and it’s so good!


Did you read this book? What did you think of it? Please comment below or send a link to your own review if you have one. I’d love to read it! 🙂

Love

Katniss Potter Booklover xxx

 

Geef een reactie

