Bookreview: Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

Hi, everybody!

This week’s book review: Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell!

Eleanor & ParkTitel: Eleanor & Park

Author: Rainbow Rowell

Publishing date: February 26th 2013

Genre: YA

Pages: 283

Rating: 5/5


Synopsis (Goodreads)

Two misfits.
One extraordinary love.
Eleanor
… Red hair, wrong clothes. Standing behind him until he turns his head. Lying beside him until he wakes up. Making everyone else seem drabber and flatter and never good enough…Eleanor.
Park… He knows she’ll love a song before he plays it for her. He laughs at her jokes before she ever gets to the punch line. There’s a place on his chest, just below his throat, that makes her want to keep promises…Park.
Set over the course of one school year, this is the story of two star-crossed sixteen-year-olds—smart enough to know that first love almost never lasts, but brave and desperate enough to try.


My review

I finally read my second book by Rainbow Rowell. After I read Fangirl in April I was sold. This book, too, was fantastic! I flew right through it. If people didn’t need sleep I would’ve read it in one sitting.
Eleanor lives in difficult family circumstances. After a year she can finally live with her mother, stepdad and siblings again. But, still her stepdad despises her. She’s such a strong character with a really strong will and reading about a corpulent person really did something with me.  Because of financial problems her clothes are all wrong and she isn’t much appreciated at school. But there is one boy who may show some interest in her and that’s the start of their first, unusual and special love.
Park lives in a warm family. But at home and school he feels like he doesn’t really belong untill he meets Eleanor. I thought Park was a less interesting character but I still really liked him.

While I was reading and after I finished it I was thinking about what I actually liked about this book and I have to admit that I still don’t know. I know that I just do. Maybe because I want my first love to start like this or maybe because the circumstances intrigued me.

Rainbow Rowell did such a good job on making me fall in love with this book and making my heart break and her writingstyle! God, I love it!

Although I still love Fangirl better than this one, this was almost as good!


Did you read this book? What did you think of it? Comment below or leave a link to your review if you have one. I’d love to read it! ALSO! PLEASE TELL ME WHAT YOU THINK THE THREE WORDS ARE!!!

Love,

Katniss Potter Booklover xxx

Geef een reactie

