Book review: The Weaver’s Riddle – Mist & Whispers (The Weaver’s Riddle #1) by C. M. Lucas

Hi, everybody!

I’m really excited for this week’s book review! I wanted to share this book with all of you for already some time and now is the time!

Titel: The Weaver’s Riddle – Mist & Whispers

Author: C. M. Lucas

Publishing date: September 21st 2015

Genre: YA, Fantasy

Pages: 350

Rating: 4.75/5


Synopsis (Goodreads)

Four handwritten tales about love, magic, and mythical creatures have become the biggest phenomenon this world has ever seen, creating hysteria among millions of readers across the globe. With the author using an anonymous pen-name, everyone is asking:

Who is the Weaver?

In the West-English town of Little Wolf Green, Scott’s bookshop is about to close down. Convinced the bookshop holds the key to her mother’s identity, sixteen year old Anya Piddling vows to save Scott’s, whatever the cost.

That’s when she discovers the Weaver’s riddle.

Combined with the Weaver’s original four books, the riddle promises to lead Anya to a reward that could pull Scott’s out of the fire, if only she can decipher the clues. But her quest becomes tangled with another when she finds herself in a land where darkness is eternal, the women are missing, and the men are awaiting her arrival for their salvation.


My review

I received this book from Claire herself in exchange for an honest review.

I was anticipating this book for months already and I actually had high expectations. Mostly I don’t like to have high expectations in case I would be dissapointed but I was everything but dissapointed by this book.

In this book we follow Anya who, after being abandoned by her mother when she was a baby, lives in the Piddling Children’s Home. But it doesn’t feel like home to her at all. Fortunatly there is Scott’s Bookshop where she dissapears in all the books she reads untill the big book company, Chronicles, discovers four books of the mysterious Weaver and Scott’s Bookshop will probably be sold to them.
Together with her ex boyfriend Michael, the bookshop manager Stephanie, and her boyfriend Tim, Anya searches for the potentially more books by the Weaver.

Anya is very helpful, she always wants to help people, whereby she sometimes brings the people around her in danger which she desperately wants to avoid. Throughout their adventure there grows a tight bond between Anya, Stephanie, Tim and maybe even Michael. Anya is brave but she really struggles with her past.
Stephanie is a real barbie doll, because of that I couldn’t stand her in the beginning but it turns out she isn’t that bad. She may not be the most smart one she still is very courageous and understading and she really suprised me sometimes.
Tim is Stephanie’s boyfriends and he’s actually the opposite of her. He’s very intelligent and sober and he truly loves Stephanie. He might be my favourite character.
Lastly, we have Michael. The first time we came across him I thought he was quite cute but further on in the book I didn’t really like him. There was that one moment where he was so adorable but a chapter later he was his arrogant self again. I don’t say that I hate him he’s just definitely not my favourite.
I’m extremely curious about what will happen with all of them in the next books.

Now, the writingstyle. In the beginning I wasn’t sure about it. Some things were too sudden and some reactions were, too. But when the story goes on that moslty dissapeares. Claire’s writingstyle is really beautiful and it pulled me into the book away from reality. I truly felt like I experienced what Anya experienced.

This whole book was so, so good and I recommend it to EVERYONE. It’s such a good fantasy that reads quickly and is really funny (which I didn’t expect but really loved!) for younger teenagers but definitely also for some older people. I could tell you so much more about this book but I won’t because you have to dive into it without knowing too much about it. 🙂

You can order this book on Amazon (Click here) and you can follow Clair on Instagram at @Clairmarielucas .


So, have you heard about this book or have you read it? If you haven’t please comment below if I convienced you to read it because you really should! And Claire, if you’re reading this, please tell me how the second book is going and when it will come out because I need it in my life!!!

Love,

Katniss Potter Booklover xxx

Een gedachte over “Book review: The Weaver’s Riddle – Mist & Whispers (The Weaver’s Riddle #1) by C. M. Lucas

Geef een reactie

