Bookreview: To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee

Hi, everybody! I’m here to share my thoughts, opinions and feels on WHAH To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee. Yes, I just did an impression of Jessethereader over at YouTube. XD If you don’t know him, first of all: SHAME ON YOU! Go watch his videos now and get obsessed over him.

Title: To Kill A Mockinbird

Author: Harper Lee

Genre: Coming-of-age, Southern Gothic novel

Pages: 309

Rating: 4.5/5


Synopsis (Goodreads)

‘Shoot all the bluejays you want, if you can hit ‘em, but remember it’s a sin to kill a mockingbird.’

A lawyer’s advice to his children as he defends the real mockingbird of Harper Lee’s classic novel – a black man charged with the rape of a white girl. Through the young eyes of Scout and Jem Finch, Harper Lee explores with exuberant humour the irrationality of adult attitudes to race and class in the Deep South of the thirties. The conscience of a town steeped in prejudice, violence and hypocrisy is pricked by the stamina of one man’s struggle for justice. But the weight of history will only tolerate so much.


My review

To Kill A Mockingbird is the second classic I read in my still short life. Because I dind’t really like the first one I read I didn’t expect a lot of this one. But then I read it and I fell in love.

The story is told from Scout’s POV. Scout is a real tomboy. Her only friend is her brother Jem and in the summer also Dill. Scout is a sturdy and funny character. I absolutly love her.
Jem is more a serious kind of character. Because he’s a couple of years older than his sister he grows more and more independent from her throughout the book. The relationship between Jem and Scout in the beginning reminds me of the relationship that I have with my brother. But sshh, don’t tell him. 😉
How “weird” children’s friendships can be, proves Dill. Every summer he comes to his aunt in Maycomb and he quickly made friends with Scout and Jem. Dill and Scout are these adorable little children who try to play adults by promising to marry each other when they’re older. When I read this I seriously laughed out loud. OK, I know I’m still half a child but it seems like I forgot for a part how it really was to be little. Jem but especially Scout and Dill helped me to experience being a real child again.
Atticus, the father of Jem and Scout, is a lawyer who defends a black man in court. The whole story is build around this happening. Atticus is such a wise man and he gives Jem, Scout and even me some life lessons we all could use.

This whole book is inspirational and I can certainly believe that this had a great inpact on the people who read this book in the 60’s. It shows how corrupt and accommodating people can be. I, like Dill, was so mad about the injustice concerning black people. How can people be so blinded by such silly things like skincolour? How can people live just by stereotypes? How can people let the bluejays live and kill the mockingbirds? This book makes you think about how we still live by stereotypes and how we still judge by skincolour. If you want to be inspired and if you want to change your view on some things in the world: Read this book! The writing style is so, so good and beautiful. The book made me happy, mad, sad, … It made me feel many things and that’s what a good book does.


So, did you read this book? What did you think of it? Comment below or send a link to your review if you have one. I’d love to read it. 🙂

Love,

Katniss Potter Booklover xxx

Een gedachte over “Bookreview: To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee

Geef een reactie

