Book Review: The Magicians’ Guild (The Black Magician Trilogy #1) by Trudi Canavan

Hi, everybody! Since today was just the second day of school I had time to blog!

Titel: The Magicians’ Guild

Author: Trudi Canavan

Genre: YA, Fantasy

Pages: 370

Rating: 3.5/5


Synopsis (Goodreads)

“We should expect this young woman to be more powerful than our average novice, possibly even more powerful than the average magician.”

This year, like every other, the magicians of Imardin gather to purge the city of undesirables. Cloaked in the protection of their sorcery, they move with no fear of the vagrants and miscreants who despise them and their work-—until one enraged girl, barely more than a child, hurls a stone at the hated invaders…and effortlessly penetrates their magical shield.

What the Magicians’ Guild has long dreaded has finally come to pass. There is someone outside their ranks who possesses a raw power beyond imagining, an untrained mage who must be found and schooled before she destroys herself and her city with a force she cannot yet control.


My review

When I got this book from a friend I hadn’t heard anything of this book. But when I read the synopsis I was intrigued so I began reading and I really enjoyed it.

Sonea is a young girl who discovers that she has magic abilities. In the first part I have the feeling she’s a little bit helpless but in the second part she turns out to be a strong and intelligent character. What I really like about her is that she’s so down to earth. She’s very realistic, doesn’t have fantasies and doesn’t expect more than she gets, if that makes sense. I can learn from her, I think.
Cery is a friend of Sonea but throughout the book they become really good friends because of what they’re going through together. Cery does everything to keep Sonea safe. He’s a little bit sly, clever, loyal and obviously in love with Sonea.

The story is told from the magicians’ point of view too.
Rothen is a strong magician and he might be one of my favourite characters… Close to Cery… Rothen takes care of Sonea and you can see that she means a big deal to him.
Dannyl is a younger magician and a good friend of Rothen’s. The thing I like about his character is that he’s the only one in this book with a little sense of humor.

I loved the moments between Sonea and Cery and the relation between Sonea and Rothen. Both these relationships are kind of unique and I have the feeling they will grow really strong.  I’m very curious for development in the relationship between Sonea and Cery.

In the beginning I missed some history of this world and its characters. We still don’t now a lot, a lot of the characters but halfway through the book we finally get some history stories.
But, what I totally loved was the telepathically communicating and how their thoughts and powers were represented as a house with different rooms inside their minds.

I had some trouble with the writing style, though. In the first part I had the feeling that Sonea was maximum two weeks in hiding but apparently it was more than a month? You read the end of a chapter and there still had to happen some things but then, in the beginning of the next chapter, a week has passed?
Also, that one thing they discover at the end was so rushed. It felt like it was just there to have some kind of plot twist. I know this will be important for the rest of the series but I didn’t like it how it all happened.

Overall I really enjoyed it.


Did you read this book?  What did you think of it? Comment below or send a link to your review if you have one. I’d love to read it. 🙂

Love,

Katniss Potter Booklover xxx

Een gedachte over “Book Review: The Magicians’ Guild (The Black Magician Trilogy #1) by Trudi Canavan

Geef een reactie

