Bookreview: Very Good Lives by J. K. Rowling

Hi, everybody! I’m back with a new bookreview! This will rather be a smaller bookreview but I still hope you’ll enjoy reading it. ๐Ÿ™‚

Titel: Very Good Lives

Author: J. K. Rowling

Genre: Non-fiction

Pages: 80

Rating: 5/5


Synopsis (Goodreads)

In 2008, J.K. Rowling delivered a deeply affecting commencement speech at Harvard University. Now published for the first time in book form, Very Good Lives offers J.K. Rowlingโ€™s words of wisdom for anyone at a turning point in life, asking the profound and provocative questions: How can we embrace failure? And how can we use our imagination to better both ourselves and others?


My review

I wanted to buy this book for such a long time but I always bought other books first. But then I heard Jessethereader (over at Youtube) talk about this book and he said how inspiring it was so I bought it, read it and absolutly loved it. Inspiring it was indeed. From the first page already I was laughing and then crying. Laughing because Joย is soย funny and crying because she said something about Harry Potter (Nostalgic…) Jo is so wise and experienced and she’s a real example. In this book she talks about failure and about not failing in your life is impossible. I’m sure this will reassure a lot of people, especially me. I know, I’m still very young but how older you get and how closer you come to adulthood the more responsibility you have. I don’t know about the other kids my age but I’m terrified of growing up. When I’m in an important turning point in my life I will definitly reread this book and let myself reassure by Jo’s wise words.
Also, Jo talks about how important it is to imagine. How important it is to stand in someone else’s shoes and how important your existance can be to other people. Because of Jo’s words I want to be a better person and she makes all our lives meaningful.

I’m so glad I read this book and I hope Jo will turn more speeches like this in a book.


Did you read this book? What did you think of it? Comment below or send a link to your review. I’d love to read it. ๐Ÿ™‚

Love,

Katniss Potter Booklover xxx

10 gedachtes over “Bookreview: Very Good Lives by J. K. Rowling

  1. Great review! Everytime I’m at the bookstore this book is just begging for me to buy it and I come close every single time. It seems like a great speech filled with life advice (something I could use a little more of). I think next time will be the time I pick it up! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 persoon

Geef een reactie

