Bookreview: The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

Hi, everybody! I’m back with a new bookreview!

FSCN0620

Titel: City of Bones

Author: Cassandra Clare

Genre: Fantasy Adventure

Page: 485

Rating: 4/5


Synopsis (Goodreads)

When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder― much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It’s hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing―not even a smear of blood―to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy?

This is Clary’s first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It’s also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace’s world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know…


My review

Clary is a 15-year-old girl who discovers that her whole life was a lie. In a short period of time she’s dragged into a world of which she had no idea of its existance. In my opinion she can handle this situation very well but I don’t really know what to think of Clary. I don’t like her very much. I have the feeling that she thinks the world is hers and that everyone has to adapt for her. I really hope this will change in the next books ‘cause I want to like her.

Jace is the one who guides Clary in this new world. He is that kind of character I would hate in real life because he has a too large self-image. But when I read about him I can’t help but like him. He’s so sarcastic and his remarks are hilarious. He’s got a sort of ease around him which makes him (yep, I’m going to say this…) “sexy”. He’s an amazing, unique character.

The other two Shadowhunters are Alec and Isabelle. As brother and sister they look alike but their inners are really different. While Alec is more insecure and doesn’t want to stand out, Isabelle is confident and likes to stand in the spotlights. I don’t really have an opinion on them but I’d like to know more about them in the next books.

At last, we have Simon, the best friend of Clary from when they were little kids. Simon is a big geek and he’s so cute! I’m curious for his role in the rest of the series. Although I think I spoiled myself a little bit by watching a fan made movie trailer of City of Ashes… Oops….

It was an amazing book but I did have some issues with it. It isn’t a blow away book and sometimes it was really predictable. Okay, I was spoiled for some parts but even some things I didn’t already know were predictable. Cassandra Clare has got a good writingstyle but some parts or things weren’t explained enough for me. Overall, it was a superb book!

Now I really need the second book because I’m quite frustrated with that one thing they find out at the end.


Did you read this book? Of course you did! Everybody already read this book. What did you think of it? Comment below or send me a link to your review if you have one. I’d love to read it! 🙂

Love,

Katniss Potter Booklover xxx

17 gedachtes over “Bookreview: The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

  1. Of course I read it xD For me, it was a book, that kind of blew me away. It has a big difference from the other series I like, though – I think that Cassie’s writing style improves through every new book. It’s a rare thing, but my favourite book from the series is the last one!

    Liked by 1 persoon

      1. The TV show is going to start in January! Advice to read everything before the TV show starts! That time you will just grab your popcorns and relax (take a tissue box along too, incase.)! Love the books although I have only read till TMI: City of Ashes (Which is super good, so far this is my FAV book in the series since I have not read the others YET.) But I will sure continue them! Soon… 🙂
        Enjoy the series! 🙂
        P.S. Something fun… Call me a Shadowhunter and NOT a MUNDANE XD
        Happy Reading!

        Liked by 1 persoon

  2. Love this series! Shadowhunters are my favorite ever!!! I remember I didn’t like the first book that much, but trust me, it gets a LOT better. And Cassandra Clare has so many plot twists in the coming books; it gets a lot less predictable. If you haven’t already, you should definitely read Infernal Devices (I like those even better).

    Liked by 1 persoon

Geef een reactie

