Bookreview: All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

Synopsis

Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.
Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.
When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.


My review

Theodore is a boy who wants to die. He’s thinking the whole time about how he wants to kill himself but he never does it. He doesn’t actually know who he is, the kids in his school think he’s a freak and he doesn’t feel understand by his friends. But then he meets Violet. I wasn’t feeling attached to Theodore but it was an interesting character.
Violet’s life was ripped apart when her sister died in a car accident. Before her sister’s death Violet was an ordinary but populair girl but she, after the accident, stopped living. It is from Theodore how she learns to live again and slowly she falls in love. I liked Violet more. I felt like her emotions and thoughts were more explained.
This book ripped me in pieces. From the moment I started this book I couldn’t put it down. It was a beautiful and a unique story. Books with topics like suicide were new for me but I was intrigued. (If you’re sensitive to topics like suicide this book probably isn’t for you.) I really like how the relationship between Violet and Theodore grew and how you could read about both their thoughts and feelings. The end was just perfect and I couldn’t stop crying.
Despite that I loved this book so, so much I had a little problem with the writing style. Some little details weren’t explained enough for me which bothered me a little bit.
Overall, this was a really beautiful but heartbreaking book.

And I just want to say to all the people who are depressed or don’t feel well in their own skin or want to kill themselves: You are worth living. I know this sounds like a cliché but that’s because it’s true. There will always be one or more persons who need you in their lives, never think that no one needs you. You are never alone. You were given this life because you’re strong enough to live it.  Everyone is perfect but at the same time no one is.


So, did anyone of you read this book? What did you think of it? Comment below or send a link to your review if you have one! I’d love to read it! 🙂

Love,

Katniss Potter Booklover xxx

2 gedachtes over “Bookreview: All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

Geef een reactie

