Bookreview Penguin Little Black Classics #3 and #4

The Saga of Gunnlaug Serpent-tongue by anonymous (#3)

This saga begins with a man, Thorstein, who has a dream about two men (represented by eagles) fight over a woman, the daughter of Thorstein (represented by a swan). At the end of the dream the two eagles die and the swan flies away with another bird.
This whole story is about how this dream becomes reality. (Well, with real people… Not with birds.)
It was a fun read but I have to say it wasn’t that great. The thing I thought was interesting is that this story excists for already a really long time (from the 10th century). A thing I didn’t like was that the story was all about who got to marry Helga but she doesn’t has to say anything in this book. She is all in the shadow of the two men. I’d like to know more about her because I think she would be a interesting character. Now she just looked “flat”.
Not great but okay.

On Murder Considered as One of the Fine Arts by Thomas de Quincey

In this fourth book of Penguin Little Black Classics De Quincey tells about all kind of murders that took place and his thoughts about them.
When I read the synopsis of this book I expected something completly different. I must say that I was a little bit dissapointed. It didn’t actually interested me and my mind went somewhere else really quickly. I don’t know if it’s the book or it’s the moment I’m reading it but I didn’t actually enjoy this book.


Anyone read one of these books? What did you think of them? Comment below. 🙂

Love,

Katniss Potter Booklover xxx

Geef een reactie

