Bookreview The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

Introduction

A portrait of the Jazz Age in all of its decadence and excess, The Great Gatsby captured the spirit of the author’s generation and earned itself a permanent place in American mythology. Self-made, self-invented millionaire Jay Gatsby embodies some of Fitzgerald’s–and his country’s–most abiding obsessions: money, ambition, greed, and the promise of new beginnings. “Gatsby believed in the green light, the orgiastic future that year by year recedes before us. It eluded us then, but that’s no matter–tomorrow we will run faster, stretch out our arms farther…. And one fine morning–“Gatsby’s rise to glory and eventual fall from grace becomes a kind of cautionary tale about the American Dream.
It’s also a love story, of sorts, the narrative of Gatsby’s quixotic passion for Daisy Buchanan. The pair meet five years before the novel begins, when Daisy is a legendary young Louisville beauty and Gatsby an impoverished officer. They fall in love, but while Gatsby serves overseas, Daisy marries the brutal, bullying, but extremely rich Tom Buchanan. After the war, Gatsby devotes himself blindly to the pursuit of wealth by whatever means–and to the pursuit of Daisy, which amounts to the same thing. “Her voice is full of money,” Gatsby says admiringly. His millions made, Gatsby buys a mansion across Long Island Sound from Daisy’s patrician East Egg address, throws lavish parties, and waits for her to appear. When she does, events unfold with detached, cynical neighbor Nick Carraway acting as chorus throughout.

FSCN0533

Review

This is the first classic I read in my whole life so I was very excited.
In the beginning I found it rather confusing and I had no idea where the story was going to.
I found Mr. Gatsby the first couple of chapters a mysterious character because we knew nothing about him and I really wanted to. When Nick meets him for the first time he turned out to be a very kind person but kind of introvert. It isn’t untill Mr. Gatsby meets Daisy again that the story makes sense.
This book was brilliant written, the discription was so good and I enjoyed reading it. Allthoug I think I would enjoy it more when I would read it when I’m older.
The beginning was rather slow but at the end it was a beautifull, well-written book about the 20th century between the two World Wars.

Did you read this book? (Ofcourse you did I’m just really late with this :p) What did you think about this book? What other classics do you like? Comment below! 🙂

Love,

Katniss Potter Booklover xxx

2 gedachtes over “Bookreview The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

  1. It was a bit too rambling at first and I only got into the story wjlhen I was at least halfway in, so I’m glad I’m not the only one who feels this way. If it was your first classic, I highly recommend reading Anne of green gables next!

    Liked by 1 persoon

Geef een reactie

